Aha moment!!!!

Beautiful business woman with idea light bulb above hand isolate

It’s really interesting how the Lord works.  I have been told certain things in my patriarchal blessing that I had interpreted to mean certain things.  (For my non-LDS readers, here is a link to explain what a patriarchal blessing is:  About Patriarchal Blessings) But, as it has turned out, I was slightly off.  SHOCKER!  I don’t know why I keep trying to put such finite definitions to what the Lord tells me.

So, here is the lesson I’m learning.  (I say “learning” rather than “learned” because I am one stubborn son of a gun and I know the Lord will have to keep teaching and reteaching me this lesson.)  When we receive certain guidance in a blessing (be it patriarchal or priesthood) or in a moment of inspiration through the Spirit, we need to pay less attention to the end result and more on the “how”.  The Lord keeps saying, “Don’t worry about where you think you’re going or where you want to go.  Just focus on what I’ve told you to do.  I’ll open the doors that need to be opened WHEN they need to be opened.”  OK God…message received!

I have been amazed at how the Lord is fulfilling that promise in my patriarchal blessing and I was SOOO wrong!  But what a great blessing it is becoming.  Far more than I could have possibly imagined!  Be still and know that I am God.  In other words, be patient, be diligent and trust that He is at the wheel and will take you where HE needs you to be.  You’ll be much happier there than where you were trying to go.

Leave a comment